Site wont upload files over 80mb and i have 8tb it's hangs

All support enquiries for DFH go in here...

Re: Site wont upload files over 80mb and i have 8tb it's han

Postby sigma » Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:33 pm

Tyler.S wrote:Two questions, to try and get a better picture about your issue.

1. Are you experiencing the login errors while (either yourself, or anyone else) is uploading such large files, or all the time?
The reason I ask is because, if you or anyone else is uploading such a large file at the same time you could be running into the hang problem because your DFH installation is maxing out the execution and/or input_time limits.


I have the login errors without uploading files. Typical scenario:
- make changes in .htaccess
- restart Apache (for "pure" experiment)
- try to login as admin (failed!)
- try to login as user (failed)

When I retried it with post_max_size less then 7000M, there is no any troubles with login and uploading.

Tyler.S wrote:2. Are you on a Shared or Dedicated hosting environment? And if you are running a dedicated machine, can you please provide me with the amount of "Available Memory (RAM)"? The reason I would like this number is to determine if your machine would even be able to handle a single upload of that size (most cannot without 8GB+ RAM). The reason for this (as explained above), is that PHP will dump some of the uploading file(s) into the (RAM) while trying to process everything, and if your server does not have enough available (RAM), you can end up not only hanging up your DFH, but the entire server and causing it to crash.

Also, if you are on a shared account, you won't be able to increase the values enough to get done what you are tryingt o do as there are many safe guards in place to stop (rouge) php scripts from using up all of the server's resources and causing it to crash. You can look at rapidshare for example. You can have unlimited space with them, but you cannot upload a 6GB file at one time. It has to be broken down.


I have used own dedicated web server.
CPU=AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+, 2 cores
RAM=3GB (250MB used at this moment)
OS=64-Ubuntu 10.10
WebServer= Apache/2.2.16 (Ubuntu)
PHP=5.3.3-1ubuntu9.7

So, does it mean, that I can't upload files more then RAM size?
sigma
Standard Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 10:02 am

Re: Site wont upload files over 80mb and i have 8tb it's han

Postby Tyler.S » Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:49 pm

No, I am not saying that you cannot. I just do not recommend leaving your php configuration at such high levels. I suggest trying to update the php changes in .htaccess before making global server changes. Especially if you are hosting other sites on your server.

In .htaccess ADD:

Code: Select all
php_value session.gc_maxlifetime 10800
php_value max_input_time         10800
php_value max_execution_time     10800

10800 = 2 Hours


Make sure you enable ".htaccess" to overwrite your php settings. This is made in the apache file. You need at least AllowOverride Options.

See this here:
http://www.php.net/manual/en/configuration.changes.php



In your PHP configuration you can update the following:

Code: Select all
memory_limit 1024M




Do not forget to restart Apache after updating. I you must, you can make the changes as suggested above server wide, but it's not recommended as I said if you are not the only one on the server.
Tyler.S
Premium
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 7:42 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Site wont upload files over 80mb and i have 8tb it's han

Postby zedna » Wed Mar 07, 2012 10:16 am

Hi,

i search an ideal VPS for this script. I need to upload 1GB files, but have a question. If i will have a 2GB RAM and two users want tu upload 1GB files. RAM wil split 1GB for user or its still 2GB/user usable?

OR

when i have a VPS on http://dreamhost.com/servers/vps/ (with 300Mb RAM). Could i still upload 1GB files?

Thanks for help
zedna
Standard Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:22 am

Re: Site wont upload files over 80mb and i have 8tb it's han

Postby SamEA » Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:35 am

Uploading a 1 GB file will not use anywhere near 1GB of RAM, only a few MBs will be assigned for PHP as it's PHP who handles user downloading/uploading for DFH.

In regards to the DreamHost VPS, I do not know what limitations they have implemented, you must ask them. However, any server that allows modification of PHP.ini and has the requirements needed for DFH, it should run without issues.
SamEA,
DaddyScripts' Admin & Developer.

Require a PHP or general IT freelancer? Don't hesitate to PM me.
User avatar
SamEA
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 7:51 pm

Previous

Return to Daddy's File Host v1.X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests

cron